Guild Ball – Fish (Shark) v Brewers (Tapper)

This is the second game my brother and I played last weekend. We switched teams so I could show him how to Fish.

Line-Up

Me: Greyscales, Siren, Shark (cpt), Salt (msct), Jac, Angel

Lee: Vet Spigot, Stave, Scum (msct), Tapper, Hooper, Friday

Match Report

Lee won the roll off and elected to receive. I kicked with Shark, joggin him right up the middle and putting the ball about 3” over the halfway line. Stave went first, sprinted up and snapped the ball, and dropped it behind him at the end of the sprint. He then threw a barrel at Shark, pushing him back and knocking him down.

13 - Kick off

The majority of the rest of the turn was players repositioning. I shifted Jac, Salt, and Greyscales into position to receive a Lured Stave, courtesy of Siren. But when Tapper charged Jac and put him into the ground, I decided instead to use Seduce on Tapper to get him to attack Stave. The reason for this was that Stave blocked a charge on Jac from Hooper. I also only needed a single momentum to get Shark back on his feet. Meanwhile, Scum had snapped the ball, and Friday headed to my right near the tree, Scum tagging along with the ball but just short of getting cover.

With my one momentum from using Tapper to knock down Stave, I got Shark to his feet. He charged Stave, wrapped and was able to use Tidal Surge and a 1” dodge to shift 5” around, passing through Hooper and on to the other side of Tapper. Another attack and dodges put Shark into melee with Scum, but he wasn’t going to be able to tackle, dodge out, and have range on goal. I tackled the ball and then scored a couple of dodges to generate momentum.

14 - T2

I won the roll off for turn two and Shark went first. He attacked Scum five times, generating five momentum, then jogged up to the goal and nailed it. Me 4 v Lee 0. I used Run the Pitch to dodge Shark closer to the goal. Lee put the ball in on the right, next to the tree but out of snap range of Scum and Friday. Stave then used momentum to stand back up, hit Ramming Speed to push back Jac and Salt as he moved, and went to knock down Siren. Except that two attacks totalling 12 dice failed to net him a single 5. I repositioned Greyscales, before Tapper went in on Angel (Jac having stood back up and healed last turn). Angel was knocked down and took a beating, but I repositioned to Jac to cut off a charge from Scum and save her.

Friday sprinted, collecting the ball and passing to Hooper, who took a momentous dodge towards Shark (hoping to avoid a Seduce from Siren. Unfortunately, unbeknownst to Lee, I had the plot card Good Mark, giving Siren’s Seduce +2” range. I was able to shift her around Stave, hit Seduce, use Hooper to pass to Shark, then bonus time a snap shot to score a second goal. Me 8 v Lee 0. The ball came back in with Spigot, who moved on Greyscales, managing to knock him down and generate some momentum. Scum went in on Jac and did some damage, while Angel stood back up and was healed at some point.

Turn three and Lee got first turn. Spigot got some momentum from Greyscales, sprinted and nailed a goal. Me 8 v Lee 4. I kicked the ball back in on the left and used Salt to collect it, and then drop it off near Greyscales (him being knocked down still). I forgot about Friday though, and she was able to nab the ball and kick to space near the tree on the left. I used Shark to generate a bunch of momentum from Hooper and knock him down too. Tapper wailed on Jac, getting up Commanding Aura, before I used Siren to Seduce Tapper into attacking Scum, putting him to half health. A fully loaded Scum then went at Jac, but fell just one point short of getting a Take Out with the first attack, allowing me to Counter Attack, taking the cat down to one health.

Scum finished Jac off and went in on Angel next, but she also Counter Attacked and was able to do the last damage to Take Out Scum. Me 9 v Lee 6. I stood Greyscales up and used him to collect the ball. Hooper had a go at Shark, but the dice continued to be against Lee and he netted nothing.

18 - Final turn

Turn four and I won the roll off. Greyscales went in on Friday, generated three momentum, passed to Shark, who then too a Bonus Timed Snapshot to win the game. Me 13 v Lee 6.

19 - Tap in to win

Aftermath

Lee felt this game went better than the first and preferred the play style of the Brewers. He noted that I played much more aggressively than he did. I was also able to split his players up and avoid a gang of Brewers roaming around, beating me into the ground. He had some very bad luck though: Stave not being able to do anything to Siren, Hooper doing likewise on Shark, and he wasn’t to know I had Good Mark which allowed me to pull off the second goal.

 

Leave a Reply

