Guild Ball – Brewers (Tapper) v Fish (Shark)

With a full team painted, I decided to play my Brewers last night. Unfortunately, I forgot to take pictures.

Line-Up

Me: Friday, Stave, Scum (msct), Tapper (cpt), Hooper, Vet Spigot

Ely: Greyscales, Jac, Shark (cpt), Salt (msct), Siren, Angel

Match Report

Ely won the roll off and elected to kick, using Shark to put the ball on the left in front Friday. I assigned two influence each to Friday and Stave, four Tapper, three Hooper, and one Vet Spigot. This allocation was my first mistake.

Friday grabbed the ball and passed back to Scum, but missed the kick. Scum was able to nab the ball in a scatter which Ely forced me to reroll with Match Fixing. Shark then activated and did Shark things. He charged Scum, tackled the ball, used Guy and Strings on Stave and pushed him around, bounced off Tapper, shot and scored, then momentous dodged near Friday. Me 0 v Ely 4. I activated Stave, played Good Mark, and used his two influence to throw a barrel next to Shark, pushing him passed Friday and knocking him down. Greyscales shifted up, then so did Scum who used Shadow Like then jogged around Shark, keeping in melee range, to block an escape back to Ely’s side of the pitch.

Siren Lured Tapper, but he still had plenty of range to charge Shark, hitting Commanding Aura and Marked Target (so Hooper would have charge range on Shark), before dishing out some pain (10 damage in two attacks I think). Jac shifted up and Ely cleared conditions on Shark to stand him back up. Hooper charged in and Ely used Defensive Stance and Counter Attack. Hooper was able to put him back on the ground, but failed to do the damage to take him out (Shark was left with 3hp). Salt moved up before Vet Spigot (who had the ball from when I kicked it back in) sprinted up to the fast ground on the right. I went a little too far though and Angel was able to charge me and get a momentous push dodge.

Although I was up on momentum, the dice were against me and Ely won the roll off. I went with four Vet Spigot, two Friday, three Tapper, and two Scum. This allocation was also a mistake. Shark forfeited his movement and got up. Hit his legendary and promptly dodged his way out of the scrum with a succession of attacks. In hindsight, I probably should have taken the chance with a counter attack from Hooper on the first attack to try knock Shark back down. Even then though, Ely would have generated one momentum from that attack and been able to stand right back up. After dodging clear of everything, Shark healed 4 (so he was now on 7). For my first activation, I went with Friday and hit Dirty Knives on Shark. This choice was also a mistake because Siren Seduced the ball of Vet Spigot and then passed to Salt. Tapper put up Commanding Aura, then hit his heroic to give two influence to Scum (this was an error, Scum has a max of 3). Angel then ran up into a snapshot position, before Scum charged Shark who put up Defensive Stance and Counter Attacked. I was only able to do two damage after a terrible roll, and then Shark’s counter attacked dodged him away. The only other interesting thing to occur this turn was Vet Spigot charging Angel, who also hit Defensive Stance and Counter Attack, failing to do anything, but Angel getting a dodge.

I lost the roll off again, and the turn began with Greyscales grabbing the ball (dropped by Salt) and moving up into tap in range. He hit Stave for some momentum before hitting the goal easily. Me 0 v Ely 8. I took a risk with the kick back in and ended up landing it with Angel. This forced me to activate Vet Spigot first, who took two attacks to tackle the ball back off Angel and couldn’t do anything else. Ely repositioned Jac to engage tapper and Hooper, followed by a Scum charge on Shark. A charge that fell one damage short of taking him out, followed by a second attack that scored nothing. That summed up the game pretty well. Shark went in and generated some momentum from Friday and Tapper. Tapper shifted across and laid the smack down on Jac, knocking him down, getting up Commanding Aura, and doing a total of 10 damage (and that was after Tough Hide). But the end of the game was nigh. Siren seduced Vet Spigot who passed to Angel, who then made the Snap Shot to end the game. Me 0 v Ely 12.

Aftermath

Well I learnt a lot about Brewers. The low movement and lack of abilities to repositions hurts big time. But it didn’t help I made endless mistakes. I realised afterwards that my allocation in first turn should have shifted two from Hooper and added one to Friday and Stave. This allocation would then allow me to make use of Tapper’s heroic to top Hooper’s influence up. This would have opened up my options, allowing Friday to use Dirty Knives as well as passing, or Stave to sprint and throw a barrel. In fact, even just opening with Stave and using a barrel to push Shark away perhaps would have been a better choice. He would have been knocked down, Ely would have no momentum and a hard time getting any, so a fully loaded Shark would likely be able to do little more than waste his movement standing up, Tidal Surge, and then nothing.

In the second turn I should have ignored Shark after he had activated and used Vet Spigot to score a goal. Even though the ball would have come back in to Ely, it likely would have been the better choice. I also should have only given Tapper two influence. I knew Ely was going to use Caught in a Net with Shark, so there was no point to giving him four influence. An extra two on Friday would have allowed her to use Dirty Knives and move in to attack Shark. Or two on Stave to use a barrel.

As for the last turn, well there wasn’t much avoid the outcome. Though better rolling would have taken out Shark, forcing someone else to generate the momentum for Ely’s snap shot.

The other big mistake throughout the whole game was constantly forgetting Shadow Like on Friday and Scum, and Unpredictable Movement on Scum (which might have been able to prevent Shark’s first turn goal, or even just keep him closer to my goal and easier to smack down.

Fish are a tough match up for Brewers though I think, especially when you’re playing your first game with them against someone who is very familiar with Fish. I’ve at least one, hopefully two, matches lined up against my brother tomorrow (1 July 2017) though, so hopefully I can use what I’ve learnt and play a better game (his inexperience should also put us on a more equal footing).

 

Leave a Reply

