Christmas Eve Update

This post should be read while listening to “School’s Out”, which I had playing in my head when my manager told me the office was closed as of midday and we were all to get out by 1pm because it’s Christmas eve, dammit, and we’ll be doing the same again next Wednesday for New Year’s Eve.

I’ve been a bit delayed in posting this update with work and the lead up to Christmas (which is at mine this year), but things got done last week/the weekend. First, I knocked off my two tankhunters (Adhesive Launcher and AP HMG); then I put together another four shipping containers, and later painted them; finally, I had a few games against a mate who is just getting into Infinity. They weren’t really the best games, but he is learning and only has the Operaiton Icestorm contents to game with, so his force composition choices are severely limited. That said, we had some fun and got to try things out. So read on and feast your eyes on all the pretty pictures!

Oh, quick addendum: I also picked up the Infinity N3 rulebook yesterday (after only putting my name down for it Saturday) and got the pre-order mini to boot (not my intention). Very much looking forward to the rest of the unit profiles to come out so I can get my JSA on N3 style.

Tankhunters

SAMSUNG SAMSUNG

If you were to ask me “Hey, why did you choose Ariadna as your second force?” (yes, they are actually my second force, Japanese Sectorial Army are my first force, I now own the whole JSA range, half of which perhaps needs painting. You will see these in the future times), my answer would be spoken swiftly and with confidence “Tankhunters”. I saw the Tankhunter autocannon model and went “I must own this”. So it should come as no surprise that it was one of the first Ariadna miniatures I purchased after getting the starter set (actually it was the first if I recall correctly). I’m thinking of getting more. More autocannons. MOAR!

SAMSUNG SAMSUNG

The four images above are the Tankhunter with adhesive launcher (ADHL). I glued the AP Rifle he also comes with to his backpack, buuuut I’m a bit too lazy to green stuff a gunsling for it. You should know the colour scheme by now: we’ve camo pattern on the white uniform, though I’ve done the inverted pattern on the helmet too in this case. I’m happy enough with the result.

SAMSUNGSAMSUNG

SAMSUNG SAMSUNG

And then in the above four images we have the Tankhunter with AP HMG. Ariadna do so love their AP HMGs, and I note that the N3 profiles have made all the AP HMG miniatures cheaper points wise – especially the Veteran Kazak AP HMG, who has dropped from 61 points to 47 (if I recall correctly). I can’t remember what the Tankhunter one is pointed at now, but I know he is cheaper too. Again, I like how the model turned out. Another welcome addition to my forces.

Battle Time

SAMSUNG SAMSUNG

I played a total of three games against a mate of mine who is new to Infinity. We played the first two games on the above battlefield, though in the second game I did tweak the angling of the building in the right on the left hand image to cut down the nasty field of fire a particular spot (which was within the deployment zone) down. My mate only has the Operation Icestorm miniatures, so his force selection was very limited and this was certainly a handicap – though it didn’t stop him tabling me the first game.

First game was Ariadna V Pano. I had first turn and deployed first. His sniper was in a very nasty spot that had vantage over basically the whole field and all approaches – not something you want when the miniature in question already has high ballistic skill (14?) and is armed with a multisniper rifle. Combined with my poor choices for my hidden deployments this lead to me losing everything but my Veteran Kazak Lt, Tankhunter with ADHL and (still camoed) Chasseur with ADHL by the end of his turn 2. Not so good.

Second game was Ariadna V Nomads and I tweaked the building as mentioned above to limit the arc of fire to allow movement up that flank of the board via sticking to the right (of the left image) of the building. It still offered excellent vantage over the field though. Just as with the first game, I was going first, deploying first and on the same side (the side with the single building). This time, however, he placed his sniper (an Intruder I think?) on the second storey of the building on the other side of the field. The mission was supplies. I moved up and grabbed the box on (my) right side. In the Nomad turn the Line Kazak that achieved that was fragged by the Mobile Brigada and then the Nomads grabbed the supplies on the other side of the field. In my turn 2, however, my Vet Kazak moved up and wasted the Mobile Brigada (two hits, one crit, both saves failed). My Foxtrot Ranger then followed up with a speculative grenade onto the roof of the building to take out the sniper. Finally the tankhunter and chassuer appeared, and with the other Line Kazak moving up, all three opened up on the Nomad on the supplies – the two ADHLs missed, but the rifle scored one hit and the save was failed. Nomads were put into full retreat – we agreed to call it a win for Ariadna at that point, there was no point to play the third turn.

SAMSUNG SAMSUNG

The third game was played on the above table. The idea was to have a container yard in the centre in which CQC madness could take place, some very open areas around the field, but with cover that could be jumped between through use of cautious movement. It didn’t quite work out like that, but there was some fun melee.

The game was JSA V Pano. Again, I deployed first and had first time, we rolled annihilation for the mission – which suited the Pano best too. I had set up a HMG on top the building on the (back) left of the left image – the sniper was directly opposite on the (front) left building. My mate made the mistake of not starting prone and tried in vain to shoot back at the overwhelming fire power of the HMG. With the sniper dead, I moved up my Domaru Butai through the centre of the field, my Kempeitai up the right a bit, and turned my keisotsu on the left flank around to make sure I could ARO any pesky airborne deployment.

His turn, he tried to take the HMG out from the opposite corner of the field – I chose to dodge and succeeded in getting myself to ground to avoid further shooting. My next turn I moved my Domaru up further, commenting “this is probably a stupid idea, but I really want to see this in action”. Basically I had only just learnt the true close combat nastiness that is a Domaru Butai. He has CC 19, and is berserk – which adds +9 to his CC ability. Any stat over 20 simply increases your critical range by the amount you are over 20, i.e. 28 means 20-8 is your critical range, so any result of 12 to 20 inclusive is a critical hit. Anyway, I dodged into combat, but failed to crit in CC or wound in CC (he saved – the fight was against an Orc Troop). I chose to leave things as they were to force him to spend an order on the CC in his active turn, and revealed a TO camo marker and moved up (my Oniwaban). I also popped my HMG and managed to wound his Knight of Some-Place-Starting-With-M.

His turn and the AD came in – right behind my HMH, which turned around in response. The two Keisotsu I had watching out for the airdrop opened up and managed to kill the target – which was good, but also bad. It was bad because the next order saw the Knight and Fusilier shoot my HMG in the back of the head. In CC my Domaru crit the Orc Troop (which might have actually meant instant death because Heavy Infantry are vulnerable to E/M? I’ll need to check this), immbolising him. My Domaru was also hit and failed to save.

My next turn, the Domaru (now being impetuous) killed the Orc Troop and moved up to take on the Knight, the Oniwaban went for the Fusilier. The Oniwaban cut the Fusilier in half in two orders (he passed his first save), but the Domaru Butai landed himself on the Knight’s AP CCW – though the Knight himself suffered a fatal blow from the berserk and frenzied Domaru.

So although it was pretty one sided, it had some great close combat, which I’ve not had the chance to get into in Infinity before.

More Containers

SAMSUNG

Finally we have the shipping containers. They are shipping containers. What more is there to say? Oh, I know, the image is somewhat over saturated. So that gives me six shipping containers all painted and good to be used (not that not being painted stopped that as you can see from the images above).

And that rounds out the last week. I’m not sure when my next update will be, or what it will be about – actually I lie, playing some Infinity this Sunday, so it will likely be within the next week and be all about that. Flames of War terrain is also on my agenda of things to do and post about though. I also need to read the N3 rules. And the 5th Ed Dungeon Master’s Guide. And start writing a new D&D Campaign. And maybe I should eat, sleep and go to work somewhere in there too.

The real world is for suckers, amirite? Until next time, have a great Christmas, a happy new year and don’t end up on the front page of the paper!

Leave a Reply

